The end of the NBA regular season is this Wednesday, and with the playoffs beginning this Saturday.
I'm gonna do something different with this post. No serious ranting, no controversial topic, just taking time to say who I think will win this year's regular season awards, and then who I might give the award to.

PROBABLE PICKS:

MVP-LeBron James (must I explain)

Rookie of the Year-Damian Lillard (arguably more obvious than LeBron)

Sixth Man-Jamal Crawford
not my choice but a possible choice with the right argument. Played a key role starting while Chauncey Billiups was hurt and always provided guaranteed points when CP3/Blake didn't perform.

Defensive Player of the Year-Larry Sanders (I'm completely clueless on this one but Sanders is the name I've been hearing as of late)

Coach of the Year-Tom Thibodeau
Thibs didn't have the best PG guard in the league all season and still managed to get his team back in the playoffs, snap the 13 game win streak of the Knicks and the Heat's historic 27 game win streak. He also dealt with injuries to key pieces such as Rip Hamilton and Joakin Noah. Did I mention that the best PG in the league is on his team and still hasn't played yet?



MY PICKS:

MVP-Carmelo Anthony
Before you ridicule me for this, I feel there is no way LeBron doesn't win his 4th MVP, but Melo kept his team in the race for the #2 seed in the East all season, which they clinched earlier today, despite injuries to STAT, Chandler, and dare I say it Kenyon Martin. I also feel that Melo's performance in the month of April is more impressive than what LeBron did in February.

Rookie of the Year-Damian Lillard
I tried to find someone to compete with Lillard here but it wasn't happening. Started the season as the 12th man on the bench and ended up breaking the rookie record for 3 pointers in a season with a month left to go. Cue the dreaded Drake song?

Sixth Man- JR Smith
Well since the MVP and 6th man have never been on the same team, I'm making history with my picks, but I'm more confident in giving JR this award. Plain and simple, JR should be starting. Instant spark, instant offense, brings the attitude. A true leader and shooting guard. His stats speak for themselves.

Defensive Player of the Year- LeBron James
Since I'm not giving LeBron my MVP, I can't deny him this award. He can effectively guard ANY player in the league except maybe Dwight Howard and Roy Hibbert when they have good nights. He is a force to be reckoned with.

Coach of the Year- Mark Jackson
HA!!!! I know you didn't expect to hear that one. Please tell me that you expected Golden State to be in the playoffs this year, or even have a record over .500. Hmmmmmm I don't see any hands raised. I'll rest my case there.

Now that my season awards are done. I'll make a couple more basketball related shout outs:

First goes to the Louisville men and UCONN women for winning there respective national championships

Next one goes to my mom for beating me in our bracket pool this year, no shame

Speaking of brackets, a good friend of mine did her first bracket this year and had me sweating bullets down to the final 4, so s/o to Jasmine

And finally, Brittney Griner, Elena Delle Donne, and Skylar Diggins will all get drafted into the WNBA tomorrow. Three of my favorite female players ever and they will continue to be in the pros.

Once everything in the NBA playoffs are locked, I'll make to predictions down to the NBA Finals.


-19



Leave a Reply.