Who knew Honey Nut Cherrios could end up being such a controversial topic.

When Kevin Garnett allegedly told Carmelo Anthony that his wife, LaLa, tasted like a box of Honey Nut Cherrios on the court in the middle of a game this past week, life got real.

Everyone who pays a decent amount of attention to the NBA knows that Kevin Garnett is just as good at getting in your head as he is actually playing the game but his latest antics bring up a serious question.



IS THERE A SUCH THING AS CROSSING THE LINE WITH TRASH TALK?

Anyone who has participated in any type of competitive environment, whether it was a high school football game, a game of 2k, or a pickup game of basketball, has done some type of trash talking. It's in the spirit of competitiveness. Nobody likes to lose, so you attempt to get any type of advantage possible, sometimes trash talking gives you that mental edge you need.

I personally feel that when you step on the court/field, you subject yourself to anything that comes your way. That's part of playing the game. If I hit a 3 in your face and say "it's too easy", I can't get mad when you turn around, dunk on me, and tell me that my wife tastes like Honey Nut Cherrios. The level of trash talk you choose to display is up to you but you have to be ready for whatever level comes back.

Back when I played lacrosse in high school, as a goalie I remember talking trash to any opponent that came near me. I knew if I could get in a player's head, half my work was done for the night.

But there was a particular player I had a passionate dislike for, honestly because he was that damn good. I said some things to him that could get you killed in the wrong place at the wrong time, but for the 48 minutes we were on that field, I couldn't have cared less. We always went back and forth all game. Funny thing about the situation is we never knew each other until we played each other for the first time. After I played my last game against him during my senior year, he was a junior, we stayed on the field for 30 minutes just talking and actually became good friends. I now coach a youth league with him.

For whatever event you are participating in, you have to be ready for whatever comes your way. I'm a big fan of trash talking, mostly because I'm a big trash talker myself but a lesson that I had to learn at a young age, that some professional athletes still don't understand is that:

What happens on the court/field, stays there. You can't let it affect your personal life










Leave a Reply.